OCTA Weekly Playlist – Episode #62

Another week, another weekly playlist.

Another week also kind of slipped by. I’m a hopeless case of kid in denial. Now sligthly flu-ish and fever-ish too. But here’s at least the playlist. Things are slowing down a bit on the release front, but there’s still lot to love.

This week gave new album from Little Scream, Nick Nace, Simon Joyner, Allison Moorer, Ancient Shapes, Extra Arms, Daystar, Amy O, Theo Lawrence, Jason Sinkhorn, Jim Sullivan (reissue that I don’t usually feature them on this list, but it felt hard to leave this one out), Ben McKenzie, Neil Young & Crazy Horse, The Leaf Library and Mikal Cronin. Slow Healer has been out for a week or so, but first time on this playlist. I had a song from the EP earlier.

On the Finnish side of things, we got the debut album from Maustetytöt. It’s a great record and worth the hype. Also superb that the vinyl sold so well (because this is Spotify is great for introduction, but buying music is what really matters). Nice to heart that physical records still have other purpose than to fill that empty space under the publisher’s bed. The Finland section also contains new singles from Treemer (new band from ex-Pansies!) and PK Keränen (solo single). Plus a song from the Kalle Konnuslahti & Tremolo album that I somehow managed to miss a couple of weeks ago.

A bunch of wonderful international singles too. I’m a big Andy Shauf fan so his first single from a new album starts the whole list. There’s also new Itasca, David Myhr, Ags Connolly, David Dondero and so forth. Again everything would be worth of a namedrop, but you’ll find them from the list below.

That’s it for this week. Love love love.

1. Andy Shauf – Things I Do (single, Anti-, 2019)
2. Little Scream – Don’t Wait For It (Speed Queen, Merge, 2019)
3. Nick Nace – Arkansas Traveler (Wrestling with the Mystery, 2019)
4. Simon Joyner – Time Slows Down in Dreams (Pocket Moon, BB*Island, 2019)
5. Allison Moorer – Cold Cold Earth (Blood, Autotelic Records, 2019)
6. Ancient Shapes – Audrey (A Flower That Wouldn’t Bloom, You’ve Changed Records, 2019)
7. Extra Arms – Up From Here (Up From Here, Dadstache Records, 2019)
8. Daystar – A Lot to Love (The Complete Recordings, 2019)
9. David Myhr – Work of Love (single, Monogram Recordings, 2019)
10. Treemer – The Great Void (single, Soft Monster, 2019)
11. Maustetytöt – Talvi Talvikin kanssa (Kaikki tiet vievät Peltolaan, Is This Art! 2019)
12. PK Keränen – Let Go (single, Playground, 2019)
13. Amy O – Synesthesia (Shell, Winspear, 2019)
14. Itasca – Only a Traveler (single, Paradise of Bachelors, 2019)
15. Jason Sinkhorn – Evelyn Moontower (Demonstrations (2009-2015), Knothole Records, 2019)
16. Theo Lawrence – Lonely Together (Sauce Piquante, Tomika, 2019)
17. Jim Sullivan – Lonesome Picker (Jim Sullivan, Light in the Attic, 2019)
18. David Dondero – The Presidential Palace of Pornography (single, Fluff and Gravy, 2019)
19. Ben McKenzie – Down on the Prairie (A Simple Thing, 2019)
20. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Think Of Me (Colorado, Reprise Records, 2019)
21. Ags Connolly – The Meaning of the World (single, Finstock Music, 2019)
22. Terra Spencer (feat Dave Gunning) – Boat Harbour (single, 2019)
23. Wished Bone – Pink Room (single, 2019)
24. Jessicar Risker – The Waves (single, Western Vinyl, 2019)
25. Emily Fairlight – Lips Lasso (single, 2019)
26. Slow Healer – Evil Incarnate (Every Now and Then, 2019)
27. Frances Quinlan – Rare Thing (single, Saddle Creek, 2019)
28. Mikal Cronin – Sold (Seeker, Merge Records, 2019)
29. Justin Peter Kinkel-Schuster – There is a Vine (single, Big Legal Mess, 2019)
30. The Deer – Swoon (single, Keeled Scales, 2019)
31. Rue Snider – Dark Crystal Daze -live (single, 2019)
32. Brandon Pfaff – Circles in the Dark (single, 2019)
33. Kalle Konnuslahti & Tremolo – Julma rakkaus (Lemmen Armoilla, 2019)
34. Crow vs Lion – Beg, Steal & Borrow (The Heart, The Time, The Pen, 2019)
35. Mercy Bell – All Good Cowboys (Mercy Bell, Bell Records, 2019)
36. Zachary Lucky – Sunday Morning at the Dragstrip (Midwestern, Wroxton Recordings, 2019)
37. Karen & The Sorrows – Something True (Guaranteed Broken Hearts, Ocean Born Mary Music, 2019)
38. Kail Baxley – Beneath the Bones (single, AntiFragile, 2019)
39. Vagabon – In a Bind (Vagabon, Nonesuch, 2019)
40. The Leaf Library – In Doors and Out Through the Windows (The World is a Bell, Wiaiwya, 2019)

Playlist link

Oh and do buy the vinyl/cd/download. Spotify and other streaming services are perfect for these introductory purposes, but try to buy at least the music that matter the most to you

If you are looking this after a week has gone, the embedded Spotify will show the latest playlist. I’ll just update the same playlist because a) if someone wants to follow it, they can just follow that one list and will get a new set of songs each Sunday b) so that I don’t have a trillion of different playlists on my Spotify account.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *