Mid-Year Favourites – Finland

It’s been quite a year and I haven’t been a very active music blogger for various of reasons. So I’ll do a very quick mid-year round ups of releases that I should have been writing about. Thank you music for keeping me relatively sane throughout this first half of 2020 and thank you dear reader for following this little music blog. Here’s a quick list of Finnish releases that I’ve enjoyed. I’m sure there’s plenty I haven’t even heard at this point and it’s very likely that I simply just forgot something awesome. Feel free to educate me before December and the proper EOTY lists.


The new album by Laura Moisio has been my biggest favorite closely followed by Kalevi Suopursu and Puhelinseksi. Others are in random order and can share the fourth spot.

Laura Moisio – Laulaa kun ei voi muutakaan (Texicalli Records)
Kalevi Suopursu – Yksin Yksiössä (Helmi Levyt / Jukan Musiikki)
Puhelinseksi – Sydänkohtaus tanssilattialla (Svart Records)

Veli – I Am Changing (Evil Veli Recordings)
joku iiris – joku iiris (Humu Records / Jukan Musiikki / Hillotehdas)
Joni Ekman – Sinulle.. (Soit Se Silti)
Joose Keskitalo – Nukkekoti (Helmi Levyt)
Vasas Flora och Fauna – Möte Med Skogsgardisterna (Startracks)
Hermaja – Kultasuoni (Helmi Levyt)
Pöllöt – Taas vähään aikaan (Svart Records)
Toni Hautamäki ja Ydinrauha – Kaikki ei ole miltä näyttää
Guggenheim-projektz – Dersu Uzala (Helmi Levyt)
Pintandwefall – Your Stories Baby (Soliti)
Untogethers – Simple Math (Iso Pinkki)
Love Sport – And Justice For All (Soliti)
Ninni Forever Band – Uusi yhtye (Jukan Musiikki)
Neiti Olga – Minä, Aina (Luova Records)
Muuan Mies – Onni (Helmi Levyt)


The most important Veli release is the new full-length debut, but this EP also has some should-be classics like Elokuussa and Ainoo Lapsi. Other four beauties are in random order.

Veli – Kotiäänityksiä (Evil Veli Recordings)
Rami Vierula – Kasetilla
Marian Valinta – Epäile
Tams – Aikahyppy 2
Sami Heikkilä – Kaunein muisto (Luova Records)


Not so surprisingly, the song list looks pretty similar to the album list. The devastatingly beautiful and poignant Kaukana onnesta by Laura Moisio is my favorite Finnish song of the year so far. Before the release of J.E. Sunde’s I Don’t Care to Dance last Friday, it was also my favourite song of the year altogether. Now it can share that place with J.E. Sunde. Kalevi Suopursu and Rock Siltanen follow along with 60+ more that you’ll find one from this ongoing playlist that I just updated. No need to type them all down, because you’ll find them from the embedded playlist. There’s new favourites like Teini-Pää and Punomo and the long time favourites like Viljami Kukkonen and Mitä Helvettiä Nyt Taas. It’s slightly top heavy and some big faves are in the beginning, but the order is completely random after the first 10-20 songs. I’ll keep on adding songs throughout the year.

Laura Moisio – Kaukana onnesta (Texicalli Records)
Kalevi Suopursu – Sinä olet minun sunnuntai (Helmi Levyt / Jukan Musiikki)
Rock Siltanen – Tulevaisuus ei oo sitä mitä se oli (Joteskii Groteskii)

Playlist link

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *