OCTA New Music Weekly – Episode #264

I had busy weekend, but here’s a quick new music weekly.

The album of the week is the new Willi Carlisle. Easily could be album of the year too, but let’s not decide that in January. Other great album releases this came week came from Matt Mitchell Music Co, Ismay, Gabi Hartmann (EP), Katy Kirby, Mol Sullivan, The Umbrellas, Sarah Jarosz, Spencer Burton, Chatman County Line and William Elliot Whitmore.

The Finnish highlight is the new Mikko Joensuu album. There’s also a beautiful album from Emilia Tuovila ja Väijytys and singles from Ilja Karsikas & Erik Bäckman and Ptak. Oh and worth mentioning on this section is also the single from Berlin-based The Usual Boys, because they are 1/4 Finnish.

International song of the week is the new one from Hurray for the Riff Raff. Other early faves came from Charley Crockett, Jason Hawk Harris, Mythical Motors, Liquid Mike, The Reds, Pinks and Purples, Christopher Paul Stelling, The Wannadies, Nathan Kalish, Thee Sinseers and so forth. Again just to name a few.

That’s all for now. Like, share, follow and all the usual promotional nonsense. It all matters. I forgot to cancel Apple, so this is still a multi-platform monster and available on Tidal, Spotify, Qobuz, Apple and YouTube. Now time to vote and later on NFL playoffs. See you next week with another episode. Love love love.

1. Willi Carlisle – Dry County Dust (Critterland, Signature Sounds Recordings, 2024
2. Matt Mitchell Music Co – Bootstrap Nation (Obvious Euphoria, Amarican Standard Time Record, 2024)
3. Ismay – I Called You Up (Desert Pavement, 2024)
4. Katy Kirby – Fences (Blue Raspberry, Anti, 2024)
5. Gabi Hartmann – Is Anything Wrong (Little Song Lines EP, 27/29 / Sony Music, 2024)
6. Mol Sullivan – Lamb (Goose, 2024)
7. The Umbrellas – When You Find Out (Fairweather Friend, Tough Love, 2024)
8. Sarah Jarosz – Columbus & 89th (Polaroid Lovers, Rounder Records, 2024)
9. Spencer Burton – North Ontario (North Wind, Dine Alone Records, 2024)
10. Chatham County Line – Way Down Yonder (Hiyo, Yep Roc, 2024)
11. William Elliot Whitmore – Bunker Built for Two (Silently, The Mind Breaks, Whitmore Records, 2024)
12. Charley Crockett – 10$ Cowboy (single, Son of Davy / Thirty Tigers, 2024)
13. Hurray for the Riff Raff – Colossus of Roads (single, Nonesuch Records, 2024)
14. Christopher Paul Stelling – Better Days (single, 2024)
15. Jason Hawk Harris – The Risk You Take (single, Bloodshot Records, 2024)
16. Nathan Kalish – Existential AI (single, Yellow Canary, 2024)
17. Sarah Shook & The Disarmers – Revelations (single, Abeyance Records / Thirty Tigers, 2024)
18. Mythical Motors – Court of the Beekeeper (single, Repeating Cloud, 2024)
19. The Reds, Pinks and Purples – Your Worst Song is Your Greatest Hit (single, Tough Love, 2024)
20. The Wannadies – It’s You (It’s You It’s You It’s You) (single, IntMusik / Universal, 2024)
21. Liquid Mike – American Caveman (single, 2024)
22. The Usual Boys – Another Wasted Day (single, 2024)
23. Mikko Joensuu – The Beast and Me (Long Ark, Is This Art! 2024)
24. Emilia Tuovila ja Väijytys – Viljavia kaaria (Täs on sulle, Eclipse, 2024)
25. Ilja Karsikas & Erik Bäckman – Tanssi vaan (single, EBIK Records, 2024)
26. Ptak – You Are the River (single, Bird’s Nest Records, 2024)
27. Minor Moon – The Light Up Waltz (single, Ruination Record Co, 2024)
28. Nina de Vitry – If We Didn’t Have Night (single, 2024)
29. Spencer Cullum feat Hollow Hand – O Caroline (single, Full Time Hobby, 2024)
30. Thee Sinseers – Can’t Do That to Her (single, Colemine Records, 2024)
31. Louien – Losing My Mind (single, Jansen Records, 2024)
32. Merce Lemon feat Colin Miller – I See a Darkness (single, Darling Recordings, 2024)
33. Sofia Wolfson – Donuts (Everyone Reminds Me of You) (single, 2024)
34. Abby Webster – Calliope (single, 2024)
35. Lola Wild – Get Up (single, Tip Top Recordings, 2024)
36. Wild Earp – Enjoy the Silence (single, 2024)
37. Lance Howell – Even the Losers (single, 2024)
38. AC Sapphire – Chaparral Bottoms (single, American Standard Time Records, 2024)
39. Kayla Von Der Heide – Desert (single, 2024)
40. The Bones of J.R. Jones – My Hometown (single, Tone Tree Music, 2024)
41. Brian Sumner – I Don’t Care (single, 2024)
42. Lotta St. Joan – Once (single, 2024)
43. Rosie Tucker – All My Exes Live in Vortexes (single, Sentimental Records, 2024)
44. Apples With Moya – Nettles (single, 2024)
45. Wojtek the Bear – Slowly, then all at once (single, Last Night From Glasgow, 2024)
46. Smoking Popes – Golden Moment (single, 2024)
47. Billy Tibbals – Burn Out! (single, Silver Arrow Records, 2024)
48. Shawn Hess – Walls (Wild Onion, 2024)
49. Brown Horse – Paul Gilley (Reservoir, Loose Music, 2024)
50. Clay Parker and Jodi James – In the Cool of the Evening (Your Very Own Dream, 2024)
51. Doug Paisley – Today I Started Loving You Again (Sad Old World, 2024)
52. Kielo Kärkkäinen – Uivat naiset (Näkijä, Texicalli, 2024)
53. Inginmaa/Hypnomen – Katoavaisuus (Maailma katoaa, Stupido Records, 2024)

Spotify Playlist

Tidal Playlist

Playlist Archive on Spotify

Playlist Archive on Tidal

Apple Music Playlist

Qobuz Playlist

YouTube Playlist

A few Bandcamp cuts for the lovely non-streamers:

Oh and do buy the vinyl/cd/download. Spotify and other streaming services are perfect for these introductory purposes, but try to buy at least the music that matter the most to you

I’ll make the playlist on Spotify and then transfer it to other platforms. This means a few tracks might be missing from the from the other platforms, if they are not available there. Oh and there’s a bunch of older episodes on my Spotify profile, if you miss an episode or want to revisit.

If you are looking this after a week has gone, the embedded Spotify will show the latest playlist. I’ll just update the same playlist because if someone wants to follow it, they can just follow that one list and will get a new set of songs each weekend.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *