10 years & 10 reasons: Cats On Fire

Cats On Fire: The Seelonce Mayday Demo / The Province Complains

Oh well. I’m a real music snob and have to pick some cd-r demo. But looking back, the most meaningful moment in my relationship with Cats On Fire was the moment when that little yellow cd-r disc entitled The Seelonce Mayday Demo arrived in the mail sometime in the spring of 2005. They had previously released two seven inch singles/eps and while I really liked them I didn’t start to practise my proposal speech until I heard that demo and especially the song Higher Grounds. Up until that moment I was just happy to stay as good friends, but after that song there was no turning back. I was in love and ready to commit to a lifelong relationship with one of the greatest indie pop bands in the country/world.

Listen to Higher Grounds:


Swedish label Fraction Discs released the songs from the demo plus a new song Draw In The Reins next year and German indie pop label Marsh-Marigold finally released the debut album The Province Complains in early 2007. Even just the fact that there finally was a Cats On Fire album available was thrilling and the excitement reached stupid heights when one noticed that it was just as magnificent as you expected. And you pretty much expected something like the best Finnish indie pop album ever released. Just perfect indie pop songs. Melodically superb and lyrically aware wrote some weird website onechord.net once upon a time. I’ve never been a follower of Morrissey, but I would follow Mattiassey to the moon and back.

I Am The White-Mantled King from The Province Complains.
One of the greatest things during these past ten years has definitely been Cats On Fire and it’s been great to see them gain some international success as well. Nothing like universal stardom obviously, but indie pop fans know them and love them all around the globe. It was always bound to happen, because such great music just can’t go unnoticed. However, finnish folks still have to learn a thing or two, because often it feels like Cats On Fire is more respected abroad than in Finland. Hopefully the third album that will be released by Nick Triani’s new Soliti label will make the Finnish media and audiences notice that one of the best indie pop bands in the world comes from Finland.


Tears In Your Cup from the second album Our Temperance Movement (which is equally wonderful five hearts album)

The Hague live video (courtesy of The Songs They Played)

Cats On Fire Website

(The reason why I started making One Chord To Another was the fact that I had totally fallen in love with Finnish guitar pop / power pop bands and wanted to make them better known. Nowadays onechord.net seem to cover a lot of obscure country bands from all over the globe, but Finnish pop was the starting point and still is the main reason this website/blog exists. One Chord To Another becomes 10 years old on 17th of september, 2011. It’s been a long journey and therefore I think I’m allowed to feel a little nostalgic. This not-so-cleverly named 10 years & 10 reasons writing series is meant to select 10 albums/releases that were a huge reason why I either started making One Chord To Another or why I’m still making it. So basicly just 10 finnish releases that will always have a huge place in my heart. One every month I think, so it will be december until the nostalgia is over. Bear with me)

Continue Reading

Review: Cats On Fire – Dealing in Antiques

Cats on Fire doesn’t seem to know fair play. Here they are releasing a compilation full of early tracks, rarities & b-sides and still manages to come up with such a stunning collection that most indie pop bands would struggle to make a career spanning best of album that could reach the same level of excellence. It’s lovely to notice that songs like My Friend in a Comfortable Chair haven’t lost their charm during the years and still sound amazing today. Than there’s of course Higher Grounds and The Smell Of An Artist from The Seelonce Mayday demo. Real classics and should be among the first choices if someone starts compiling hall of fame for indie pop songs. Melodically superb and lyrically aware pop songs I wrote back in the day and I can still agree with my past self. A new treat on the album is a wonderful White Town cover Your Woman. I can admit that they weren’t making perfect pop music right from the beginning (by the time of the second single they probably were) and there are some only good songs here as well. Nevertheless, I think the biggest reason not to give this full amount of hearts is the fact that they’ve gotten even better during the years and are nowadays pretty much the best finnish band and (one of) the best indie pop band(s) in general. So if these were already worth five hearts, what are they doing right now. Something pretty spectacular I would say.


Listen to Your Woman:

Cats on Fire Website
Cats on Fire at myspace

Continue Reading

News: Cats on Fire

Cats On Fire’s new rarities compilation Dealing in Antiques is out on 12th of may. Released by Johanna Kustannus in Finland and on license by Matinée in the US and South America. Cats On Fire is pretty much the best indie pop band in the country/world/universe and based on the tracklist one can already say that it will be an excellent compilation. White Town cover Your Woman starts the record and this song is now available for free download. You can listen to it below and/or download it from the Cats On Fire website

Cats on Fire Website


1. Your Woman (White Town cover)
2. Poor Students Dream of Marx
3. Never Land Here
4. Crooked Paper Clip
5. Something Happened
6. On His Right Side
7. Don’t Say it Could Be Worse
8. My Friend in a Comfortable Chair
9. You Will Find Me Where You Left Me
10. Solid Work
11. Higher Grounds (original EP version)
12. They Produced a Girl
13. Honey Your Baby
14. The Smell of an Artist (original EP version)
15. Your Treasure
16. The Cold Hands of Great Men
17. Draw in the Reins (original EP version)
18. Happiness is Chemistry
19. Stars
20. The Hague

Continue Reading