Year 2011 Round Up Part 3: A.Mattsson, Sloan, Jonny, Fountains of Wayne, D.Myhr, T.Keene, M.Sweet, M. Viola

On with the highlights of the year. And this time finally some pop songs (even though I will get back to folk and country sooner or later). Let’s start with the big boys and power pop wizards who have written awesome pop music for years.

Andreas Mattsson – AA from the album Kick Death’s Ass

Jonny – Candyfloss from the album Jonny

Sloan – Unkind from the album Double Cross

Fountains Of Wayne – A Road Song from the album Sky Full Of Holes

David Myhr – Looking For a Life from the upcoming album Soundshine

Tommy Keene – Deep Six Saturday from the album Behind The Parade

Matthew Sweet – She Walks The Night from the album Modern Art

Mike Viola – Get You Back from the album Electro De Perfecto


Continue Reading

Power Pop #14: Matthew Sweet – Sick of Myself

There’s a new Matthew Sweet album Modern Art coming out on 27th of september and that’s a good reason to pick one of the greatest songs ever. Matthew Sweet is already a legend and he has written dozens of perfect pop songs. Especially in the early and mid-nineties he was in incredible form and released three pop classics Girlfriend, Altered Beast and 100% Fun. The newer material has also been mostly damn good, so I’m looking forward to the new album. I could keep this section alive with Matthew Sweet’s songs for a month, but if I have to choose just one, it’s got to be Sick of Myself from the album 100% Fun (released in 1995). If you want to hear more pop classics, Matthew has a great sampler at Soundcloud.

Oh and this great song below is the first single She Walks The Night from the new album Modern Art.


Oh #2: You can download a free Matthew Sweet live Ep from Noisetrade.

Matthew Sweet Website

Continue Reading